Junior College


What is Junior College? – Top Ten Online Colleges

Curriculum Areas at Junior College!

For the purpose of fostering competencies in learners, the curriculum encompasses nine major learning areas, which are: Languages, Humanities, Mathematics, Science and Technology, General Studies, and Health and Physical Education. These areas are broadly divided into Scholastic and Co-scholastic areas as detailed below:

  • Languages
  • Scholastic Areas
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • Commerce
  • Visual, Performing and Fine Arts
  • General Studies
  • Health & Physical Education Co-scholastic Areas

Scholastic Areas:-

The curriculum envisages individualized personal learning acumen and seeks to explore the potential of students in acquiring substantial acknowledge and skills through academic rigors. With greater academic orientation and research skills in core academic areas, students would evolve as discerning young adults with a sense of real self-estimate having true values and principles. The scholastic areas are as follows:

(i) Languages include Hindi, English and other 31 languages (detailed in Curriculum Volume II).  The curricula in languages focus on listening, speaking, reading and writing skills and, hence, develop effective communicative proficiencies. Learners use language to comprehend, acquire and communicate ideas.

(ii) Humanities (Geography, History, Economics, Home Science, Sociology, Fine Arts, Political Science, Fashion Studies, and related subjects). Humanities include the learning of history and culture, geographical environment, global institutions, constitutional values and norms, politics, economy, interpersonal and societal interactions, civic responsibilities and the incorporation of the above-mentioned learning.

Learners appreciate and value everyone’s right to feel respected and safe, and, in this regard, also understand their Fundamental Rights and Duties and behave responsibly. Learners learn to be tolerant and empathetic towards others through the study of this subject.

(iii) Science and Technology (Subjects related to Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Computer Science Information Practices) include gaining knowledge about matter and energy, nature, the environment, technology, breakthroughs in science. The focus is on knowledge and skills to develop a scientific attitude and to use and apply such knowledge for improving the quality of life. This learning can be used to analyze, evaluate, synthesize and create. Learners understand and appreciate the physical, biological and technological world and acquire the knowledge and develop attitude, skills and values to make rational decisions in relation to it.

(iv) Mathematics includes acquiring the concepts related to number sense, operation sense, computation, measurement, geometry, probability and statistics, the skill to calculate and organize, and the ability to apply this knowledge and acquired skills in their daily life. It also includes understanding of the principles of reasoning and problem solving. Learners identify, integrate and apply numerical and spatial concepts and techniques. They have clarity of concepts and are able to connect them to the real world. Learners rationalize and reason about pre-defined arrangements, norms and relationships in order to comprehend, decode, validate and develop relevant patterns.

(v) Commerce (Business Studies, Accountancy, Entrepreneurship, Economics and related subjects) includes gaining understanding about core business disciplines like the exchange of items of value or products between persons or companies and any such exchange of money for a product, service, or information is considered a deal of commerce.

(vi) Visual, Performing and Fine Arts (Dance, Drama, Music, Heritage Crafts, Graphic Design, Fine Arts, Sculpture and related subjects) aims to help learners cultivate an interest and appreciation for arts and encourage them to enthusiastically participate in related activities, thus, promoting abilities such as imagination, creativity, value arts, and the cultural heritage.

Co- Scholastic Areas:-

It is a well-known fact that only a healthy child can learn effectively and good health status leads to better learning. Many other activities are necessary for development of the affective and psychomotor domain. Those activities like games and sport, art and music, craft work etc. are termed as co-scholastic activities. Instead of co-curricular activities, the term coscholastic activities are used as both cognitive and non-cognitive development can take place by exposing the child to the lesson on scholastic subjects and non-scholastic subjects. General Studies, Health and Physical education, yoga, traditional games, indigenous sports, NCC, Scouts and Guides, Martial Arts etc. will be integral part of the curriculum and would be in the routine of the schools for the holistic development of children .

(vii) Health and Physical Education focuses on holistic development, both mental and physical, understanding the importance of physical fitness, health, well-being and the factors that contribute to them. Focus of this area is on helping learners develop a positive attitude and commitment to lifelong, healthy active living and the capacity to live satisfying, productive lives with the help of health management, indigenous sports, yoga, NCC, self-defense, fitness and lifestyle choices.

These eight learning areas are to be integrated with each other in terms of knowledge, skills (life and livelihood), comprehension, values and attitudes.

Learners should get opportunities to think laterally, critically, identify opportunity, challenge their potential and be open to challenges. Learners value and engage in practices that promote physical, cognitive, emotional and social development and wellbeing. This enables learners to connect different areas of knowledge, application and values with their own lives and the world around them. The holistic nature of human learning and knowledge should be brought forth throughout.